Sarah versus Earl

My journey to diagnosis and, hopefully, a cure for Cushing's Disease

Cushing’s Syndrome Awareness Challenge – Day 4 April 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 9:08 pm
Tags: , ,

Things Cushing’s has given me is the topic today.  I figure there will be a things Cushing’s has taken from me post at some point soon, let’s try for something slightly more positive today.

1.  Perspective.  Nothing like having a serious illness to make you re-assess.   Sometimes I don’t like all this perspective.  Sometimes I forget about it and get mad about not being able to do whatever it is, but overall I find it has helped me realize that things could be worse.  It’s not cancer, I’m not dying, I have a wonderful medical team, I’ll get through this.  I hope.

2.  Knowledge.  When you have to advocate for yourself at every step of the process, you have no choice but to pick up knowledge in a hurry.  So I’ve learned how to read medical journals, how to read lab results, and how to ask for what I need from my doctors.  I hope it makes me a better patient.

3.  Friends, old and new.

I have, of course, made many new friends through the Cushing’s community who have helped me at every step of this process.  They pointed me to the Good Doctor, they encouraged me to keep testing when I was discouraged, cheered me on through surgery and recovery and were there when I needed a shoulder to cry on during the recurrence.   I could not have gotten through this without them.

Equally important are the old friends and family who have supported me.   At times I’m overwhelmed by the amount of love and support I’ve received from people on Facebook, people who I have not spoken to regularly in a long time.   Just this week, a friend from high school contacted me to offer her support and I was very near tears reading her note.  Paula, if you read this, thank you!

Whenever I’m headed into surgery, I can feel the prayers from all of these friends, near and far, and I’m so grateful for them.   Thank you to all of you who have listened, read, prayed, sent positive vibes, and generally supported me.  It’s a terrible thing to be sick and Cushing’s can be very isolating, because the effects are so physical.  It helps me to read your comments on the blog, the notes you send me on Facebook or via email.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.